Painting Workshop

blog header painting VLRLovely workshop to finish with.  Colour, abstraction, process, scale – all strongly resonate with me; reflecting back over the course to date, perhaps this is clear throughout in much of what I have already produced.  Natural leanings?

Thoroughly enjoyed working with the colour charts as a way back in after half term.  Meditative process and easy to get into.  I worked with a large scale grid and produced some interesting colour mixes.  Despite headache in low lighting conditions, I also enjoyed the afternoon exercise (composition, abstraction, shading and shadows using a still life of folded/torn coloured card as the subject) and liked the results very much.  I produced two very different pieces although my approach was the same – I saw 2D shapes and shades and the results were very abstract.  To me, one looked like a landscape of field shapes; the other (once turned 90 degrees and given a turquoise background) could have been a portrait or a vase of flowers – it had something of Picasso about it).  I decided to stick with a large paint brush throughout, which, if I did the same exercise again, I’d be freer about – because the second piece might have looked better for some greater precision.

Grabbed a book on Rothko from the library and dipping into it, in light of today, feel I am responding to his work in a very different way.  Getting strong emotional response to the colour choices and simplicity.

Janie also showed us a couple of pieces by Alex Katz as examples of great use of colour.  Looking through his website http://www.alexkatz.com/home, I find his sense of colour inspiring and bold.

I was looking forward to working the largescale abstract paintings very much and loved the process.  Before going on lunch, I intuitively decided to work with pale sage greens and dark browns/black/reds (perhaps inspired by Andrew Hardwicks largescale moody pieces next door in the RWA?).  I wanted the green to come through around the edges, which I had inadvertently achieved with my second ‘folded cardboard abstract’ from yesterday.  Over lunch I sketched out my idea – the majority of the painting would be dark (darker from left to right in thirds), with the light green showing through and the whole thing lifted by 3 red vertical lines on the right. . . this was my process:

Sponged whole area with light sage green/cream

abstract painting 1 VLR

From left to right, added deep pink/red in bold but fading lines using flat 2.5? paint brush

Abstract painting 2 VLR

Deepened the colour with brown and then black (at this point Mark suggested it might be a good idea to change brush size so something smaller – I felt I wasn’t quite ready to do so, wanting to darken and deepen even more – so I thickened the ‘dark’ with a palette  knife, my hands, whitings).  Standing back I also realised that I needed more dark balance on the left.

Abstract painting 3 VLRabstract painting 4 VLRabstract painting 5 VLR

At this point I took a break, got some fresh air, came upon a possible name INCARCERATION (physical, emotional, something about prisoners of war, army training on Dartmoor. . .) and came back to the studio to add finer detail with more definitive lines using paint brush, firstly curved and crossing in the deep pink. . .

abstract painting 6 VLR

and then, wanting to lift and find further definition, with a straight horizontal line at the bottom using the light green (using masking tape for straightness) which looked great

abstract painting 7 VLR

but I still felt it needed something else.  Going back to my original concept of vertical red lines on the left and encouraged by Mark to create a different shade than anything before, I added a vertical red line which interweaved in front of and behind the other lines.  Really pleased with the final result and with my decision making throughout.  What would I change?  I think there may be too much background green showing through so perhaps I should have stayed with my original concept of a greater sense of darkness.  The straight lines were inspired and life the whole piece.  I’m looking forward to seeing it with clean border.  Like abstractions of detail.

abstract painting 8 VLR abstract painting 9 VLR abstract painting 10 VLR

My peers used the following words in response to the piece:  ANGER – URBAN – SADNESS – MENSTRUAL – MOUNTAINS – MONSTER – CAGED – CAVE – PAIN – SHARP – WAR – BARBED WIRE – CONFLICT – CAMOUFLAGE  – LANDSCAPE.  Spot on and great to receive such emotional and felt responses.

Great day!

Final day and we concentrated on still life and composition, painting large and using watered down acrylics – wet on wet encouraged, which worked well with the theme of my paintings – swimming gear.  The soft edges around the solid objects gave the images a watery quality.  I didn’t sketch out before hand and used my brushes to draw/capture the form.  I’m glad I allowed for drying before adding further definition and am particularly pleased with the way the wording and folds/light/dark works on the swimming hat.  Because I was pleased with the result I found it a little perturbing that we had to cut them up for the group exercise on composition, using the wall as our canvas.  I enjoyed looking at and critiquing Vera’s four chosen artists – Giorgio Morandi (http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/giorgio-morandi-1660), Michael Craig-Martin, Elizabeth Blackadder and Jane Telford.

still life 2 VLR still life 3 VLR still life 5 VLRstill life 4 VLR

We were then free to create a still life painting of our choice. I had brought in my Moroccan teapot and I felt that this went well with the jelly mould (silver/transparent/intricate shape and design) and then as a juxtaposition, Sarah’s bold black and red and solid sculpture. For me composition feels very natural and intuitive so the grouping and then the position on the paper came to me very quickly.  I worked big, no pencil, built up the layers of paint but kept quite watery except the sculpture.  Result below.  Mostly pleased, especially the teapot.  I made choices about background (keeping it in similar tone/colour to the sculpture) and then (intuitively) obvious brush strokes in yellow (something about it looking old/and also lifting the composition) – which could have been different (lighter background/no yellow) and Vera questioned me about both of these choices.  I still feel that I made the right choices.  Something I did get wrong though is that the see through jelly mould was painted in before the background and I could not get the background colour ‘behind’ the mould.  I would think this through in future.

still life 1 VLR

I think that Vera’s session has really got me thinking about still life, particularly the flat/naive form.  I love the way that the essence of objects and feelings/emotions can be captures with simple composition and form.  I want to develop this much further.

Elaine Phamphilon @ The Adam Gallery, Bath – visited 11/11.  Photos of Eva’s Delicious Rosy Pears (mixed media on wooden panel 30×40 and Motoko’s Jug and Blue Mug on White Cloth (mixed media on canvas 30×40)

Inspiration 2 VLR Inspiration 3 VLR

http://www.elainepamphilon.com/

followed swiftly by seeing a William Scott at the Victoria Art Gallery: Bottle and Fishslice 1949-50 oil)

Inspiration 4 VLR

(also see http://williamscott.org/)

Tuning into the importance of composition and colour.  Responding to the simplicity of the pieces.

See also http://www.jessicacooper.co.uk/

Leave a comment